Skip to main content

ASA 105 Coastal Navigation

Thursday, Mar 7, 2024 (5:30 pm - 8:30 pm)
Thursday, Mar 14, 2024 (5:30 pm - 8:30 pm)
Thursday, Mar 21, 2024 (5:30 pm - 8:30 pm)
Thursday, Mar 28, 2024 (5:30 pm - 8:30 pm)
Thursday, Apr 4, 2024 (5:30 pm - 8:30 pm)
Saturday, Apr 6, 2024 (9:00 am - 5:00 pm)
Sunday, Apr 7, 2024 (9:00 am - 5:00 pm)

Open for sign up
Leaders: Mark Gillespie
Jithanie Gunasena

Event Information

Description

If interested in this course, please sign up using this link:

https://www.seasafarissailingschool.com/class/asa-105-coastal-navigation-march-april-madison-wi/

This American Sailing course has been arranged by the club and is offered by Sea Safari. You do not need to be a Hoofer Member take this course. Use the link above to sign up with Sea Safari. 

This course teaches navigational skills required to safely navigate a sailing vessel in coastal or inland waters. This is a perfect course to better understand coastal navigation and how you interact with the world around you. Beyond your GPS, you’ll learn skills to safely navigate waters that include tidal and current changes. In this course, you will learn chart reading, maritime publications, navigation equipment, tide and current tables, plotting position, bearings, running fixes, set and drift, navigation lights, day shapes, buoyage systems, current and leeway and much more.

Format: Hybrid Instructor Led Training via ZOOM – followed by 2 days In-Person at Hoofer Sailing Club – UW Madison.

There will be a classroom setup at Hoofers for those interested in getting together in person This course is offered as a 5 remote 3 hour sessions, followed by a Saturday, and Sunday, 8 hours each day.

Thursday, March 7 – 5:30-8:30pm (virtual instructor via Zoom, in-person classroom setup at Hoofers)
Thursday, March 14 – 5:30-8:30pm (virtual instructor via Zoom, in-person classroom setup at Hoofers)
Thursday, March 21 – 5:30-8:30pm (virtual instructor via Zoom, in-person classroom setup at Hoofers)
Thursday, March 28 – 5:30-8:30pm (virtual instructor via Zoom, in-person classroom setup at Hoofers)
Thursday, April 4 – 5:30-8:30pm (virtual instructor via Zoom, in-person classroom setup at Hoofers)
Saturday, April 6 – Times TBD (in-person at Hoofer Sailing Club)
Sunday, April 7 – Times TBD (in-person at Hoofer Sailing Club) – Review & Exam

Cost: $397.00 / per person

Event Type
Lesson / Training (ratings may be achieved)
Cancellation, Reschedule, and Refund Information
Equipment/ Gear Required by Participant
Food and Equipment Information
(not set)

Registration Count

Registration Type Registrations Remaining
All Participants 0 0